The mosquito life cycle is composed of four stages: eggs, larval, pupae and adult.

Stage 1: Eggs
Only female mosquitoes have the ability to lay eggs. In order to develop eggs, the female needs a blood meal.With each blood meal, the female can lay several hundred eggs. The eggs are laid in or around water and will attach to one another, forming a raft. Individual eggs will float independently. After 24 to 48 hours, the eggs will hatch and release larvae.

Stage 2: Larvae
Mosquitoes spend approximately seven days to complete development of the larval stage depending on food and temperature conditions.

Stage 3: Pupae
A week to ten days after the eggs hatch, the larvae transform to pupae. At this time, they can breathe oxygen. However, they cannot feed (bite). Mosquitoes spend one to two days in the pupae stage.

Stage 4: Adult
Once the mosquitoes have reached adulthood, they will feed on nectar; only the female mosquito will seek out a blood meal for reproduction. The adult mosquito lives for a period of six to eight weeks. A female will lay several batches of eggs during her life.

Home | Sitemap | MSDS/Labels | Links | Contact Us
Professional Mosquito Control | Mosquito Control Chemicals | Mosquito Control Products | Mosquito Control Equipment | Mosquito Control

ADAPCO "The name you trust in the mosquito control industry."